Skip to content

Resources Community Infrastructure Fund

The Resources Community Infrastructure Fund is a voluntary partnership between the Queensland Government and the resources industry that seeks to support infrastructure that is in addition to existing planned State and resource company funded community infrastructure.

The $100 million fund has been established by a voluntary partnership between coal and mineral companies through the Queensland Resources Council and the Queensland Government. The resources industry will be contributing $70 million and the State contributing $30 million.

The fund will be available to eligible communities to further develop their economic and social infrastructure to access services that meet resource community needs and maximise and enhance community wellbeing.

Applications for Round 2 have closed. Announcement of successful projects is expected from July 2022.

Successful projects for Round 1 were announced in December 2021. The full list of recipients is available below:

    • AEIOU Foundation - $1,000,000 for a new Townsville early-intervention childcare centre
    • Bakers Creek Australian Football Club Inc - $390,200 for field lighting for night matches and training at Bakers Creek, south of Mackay
    • Banana Shire Council - $6,000,000 for construction of the Moura Library and Museum, including a community services hub
    • Bowen Netball Association Inc - $122,493 to surface grass netball courts in Bowen
    • Brothers Australian Football Club - $335,000 for upgraded field lighting at Kele Park in West Rockhampton
    • Central Highlands Community Services - $980,000 to expand existing Access Accommodation facilities with a new four-unit high-needs disability accommodation facility in Emerald
    • Central Highlands Regional Council - $245,000 to upgrade amenities at the Bedford Weir recreational and camping area near Blackwater.
    • Charters Towers Regional Council - $7,800,000 to replace and expand the Kennedy Regiment Memorial Pool in Charters Towers
    • Cloncurry Justice Association - $619,255 for a Men’s Healing Shed in Cloncurry to help address domestic violence behaviours and support Indigenous low-level parolees
    • Cloncurry Shire Council - $834,000 for mobile and fixed sports grandstands, shade structures and facilities for players and officials at sports fields throughout the shire
    • Cook Shire Council - $1,448,725 to upgrade facilities at Coen Airport
    • Isaac Affordable Housing Trust - $8,000,000 to build 16 affordable housing units, including five that are suitable for tenants supported by the National Disability Insurance Scheme
    • Isaac Regional Council - $8,000,000 to redevelop the Moranbah Community Centre
    • Outback Exploratorium - $1,000,000 to provide a permanent home for the Outback Exploratorium museum and science centre in Emerald.
    • Rockhampton Regional Council - $4,500,000 for redevelopment of the Mount Morgan Aquatic Centre.
    • Roseberry Queensland - $864,688 to build a housing and homelessness support hub in Gladstone
    • Royal Flying Doctor Service, Queensland section - $695,000 for a new patient transfer facility in Emerald
    • Rural Medical Education Australia - $718,000 to construct the Chinchilla Clinical Training Centre, a hub for health training.
    • Sarina and District Netball Association Inc - $441,295 for new netball courts in Sarina
    • selectability - $3,103,271 to construct the Rockhampton Mental Wellbeing Safe Haven for mental health support and suicide prevention

Advisory Committee

The Queensland Government and Queensland Resources Council assembled the Advisory Committee to ensure the needs of resources communities across the state will be properly considered.

Committee members have a broad mix of skills and experience in mining logistics, regional, remote and indigenous communities, regional and remote health, and public administration.

    • Tony Mooney AM, Chair, former Mayor of Townsville and current Chair of the Townsville Hospital and Health Board and Director of Tropical Australian Academic Health Centre
    • Fiona Jose, CEO of Cape York Partnership
    • Jane William, Chair of the Central west Hospital and Health Board, and Wellness Nurse at the Barcaldine Medical Centre
    • Melissa Johnson, General Manager, Hay Point Coal Terminal.
    • Leah Morgan, Specialist Corporate Affairs, South32.
    • Anthony Pitt, Director Logistics and Procurement, Glencore Coal Assets Australia.
    • Jess Roberson, General Manager People and Public Relations, Kestrel Coal Resources.
    • Michael McKee, Deputy Director-General, Corporate, Department of State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning.
    • Natalie Wilde, Deputy Director-General, Local Government, Department of State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning

Further information

For further information, contact

Last updated: 04 May 2022