Skip to content

Minister’s Planning Awards

The 2022 Minister’s Planning Award winners were announced on 11 November 2022 at the Planning Institute of Australia (PIA) Queensland Awards for Planning Excellence.

The winners in the three categories of the 2022 Minister’s Planning Awards are:

  • Tayla Miller, Griffith University, Best Thesis or Research Project
  • Georgia Quick, Griffith University, Female Student in Planning
  • Cassie Tregea, James Cook University, Indigenous Student in Planning

Please check back soon for information on the Minister’s Planning Awards for 2023.

About the Minister’s Planning Awards

We are committed to shaping Queensland’s future — and that means investing in tomorrow’s planners by giving them an opportunity to put their skills, knowledge, and ideas to practice in real-life scenarios.

The Minister’s Planning Awards give planning students the opportunity to submit applications to demonstrate innovative and practical approaches to real-world planning challenges — particularly related to engagement and consultation in planning.

Emerging planners entering the workforce will soon play a leading role in delivering well-planned communities for Queenslanders, so we’re keen to see today’s students apply their learnings and ideas to address real challenges.

Learn more about the 2022 award program below.

Categories and criteria

If you’re studying a planning-related degree at a Queensland university, you could be eligible for one of three awards:

  1. Thesis or Research project
  2. Female Student in Planning (university nomination)
  3. Indigenous Student in Planning (university nomination)


Prizes on offer as part of the awards include four-week paid internships with Queensland's planning department — giving you a valuable opportunity to showcase your knowledge and apply your studies in a real-life context.

The internships give you an opportunity to see first-hand how Queensland’s planning framework drives economic growth and delivers well-planned, sustainable and resilient communities. There is a variety of work to be involved in including regional and state planning, development assessment, statutory planning, and policy development.

A cash prize of $2000 is awarded for the Minister’s Planning Award Thesis or Research project Category.

We also profile the winner’s submissions and the best ideas we receive on our website — giving you a chance to showcase your work for prospective employment opportunities.

Frequently asked questions

  • Submissions for the 2022 Minister's Planning Awards closed on Friday 30 September 2022.

  • The Minister’s Planning Awards were presented at the Planning Institute of Australia (PIA) Queensland Awards for Planning Excellence in November 2022.

  • In response to feedback from previous years, the awards are open to all undergraduate, post-graduate and masters students.

    Post-graduate students, who graduated from their undergraduate degree in the previous year are welcome to submit their thesis or research project from their undergraduate studies to the Minister’s Planning Awards (thesis/research project) category.

  • As long as international students are attending an eligible university and have an appropriate visa that entitles them to work in Australia, they can apply for the Minister’s Planning Awards.

Meet Ruby our 2021 Minister’s Planning Award winner


Contact us

For more information, please email

Last updated: 18 Nov 2022