The Deputy Premier's Award for Urban Design recognises contemporary Queensland urban design projects of the highest quality and encourages cities, towns and communities across Queensland to strive for best practice in all projects. The award highlights the critical role of good urban design in shaping Queensland and how collaborative relationships can lead to the successful development of the built environment.

Logan City Council’s Beenleigh Town Square Project was named the winner of the Deputy Premier’s Award for Urban Design 2017 by the Deputy Premier, the Honourable Jackie Trad MP, on Friday 24 March at the State Library of Queensland.

To read the jury's citations, click on the photos from the winner and three commended projects below.

Winner: Beenleigh Town Square Project

Winner - Beenleigh Town Square Project

Location: Logan
Team: Logan City Council, AECOM, MRCagney and Wilson Architects


Brisbane Showgrounds - Public Realm Overlay

Project: Brisbane Showgrounds – Public Realm Overlay
Location: Brisbane
Team: RNA and Lendlease with Lat27

Kwong Sang Walk Laneway Creation Project

Project: Kwong Sang Walk Laneway Creation
Location: Toowoomba
Team: Toowoomba Regional Council

The Gold Coast Landscape Character Study

Project: Gold Coast Landscape Character Study
Location: Gold Coast
Team: City of Gold Coast with Cardno, Catherine Brouwer and Michael Aird


Jury members

Malcolm Middleton (Chair) is an urban designer and architect who brings a wealth of experience to the role of Queensland Government Architect, having been involved in the industry for more than 35 years. He has practical experience in the areas of architecture, master planning and urban design and had extensive experience in the integration of landscape design principles into project solutions.

Cathryn Chatburn is an award-winning urban designer and landscape architect with more than 23 years of practice in Australia and the United Kingdom.

James Coutts has more than 30 years experience as a planner and is currently an Executive Director in the Department of Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning. He joined the department in 2010 to promote the development of key planning projects. In a prior position James was the Director of Planning at the Urban Land Development Authority.

Chris Isles is a town planner with more than 15 years’ experience in the planning and development industry. He was awarded the Australian Planner of the Year by the Planning Institute of Australia in 2015. He has expertise in project feasibility, construction and market conditions, technology in planning and Smart Cities.

Marek Krynski is a senior development manager with Economic Development Queensland and has 14 years private and government sector development industry experience delivering award-winning master-planned urban infill projects. As a registered architect for the past 25 years, Marek is passionate about built-form and its relationship with the public realm.

Leah Lang was recently appointed Gold Coast City Architect, having worked in the industry for more than 20 years in award-winning practices in the United Kingdom, Brisbane and the Gold Coast.

Stuart Vokes is a multi-award-winning architect and co-director of a Brisbane-based architectural practice that specialises in boutique residential, commercial and institutional projects, as well as furniture design and teaching.